Photog Chris's Blog

got a camera and photoshop, fun times

A perfect Koi

with one comment

Well, maybe not perfect, but better then my original!

On a Sunday afternoon in early May a friend and I went down to the UT gardens. It was an overcast day, it rained most of the morning. Traveling lite, I left my one of my lenses, filters and tripod in the car, just carrying my wide angle, zoom and mono-pod. Before we left we decided to take some pics of the man made falls and pond there. I had forgotten there were Koi in the ponds but that didn’t deter me from shooting.  I shot about 60 pics and deleted half of them when I got home. So far only one has made it onto the web at flickr.

 

Here is a sample of the original:

 

Koi - unedited

Koi - unedited

 

Don’t you just love the glare off the water? I guess that is an overcast sky for you. I wish I had a full psd with all the layers so I could tell you exactly how I fixed this pic, but I don’t. I can say that I more then likely copied the base image to a new layer and set the Blending Mode to Overlay. Possibly added an Adjustment layer with Curves to boost contrast even more. I do know that I had hundreds of  tiny white specks and bubbles that had to be cloned out by hand. Oh yeah, croping and flipping the picture help the composition too.

 

Here is the finished pic:

 

Finished Long Fin Koi

Finished Long Fin Koi

 

I would say I spent maybe two hours on this pic, when if I had remembered my polarizing filter I might have spent 20 minutes. But that is okay, I enjoy Photoshoping, its fun!

Written by photogchris

May 19, 2009 at 9:14 pm

Posted in Example

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chris,

    Just wanted to let you know, this picture is indeed the perfect example of a longfin (butterfly) koi. I’ve been searching the net for the longest time for examples to show my tattoo artist what I’m wanting. Thank you for this perfect shot. I’ll send you a picture of my tattoo once it’s completed if you’d like.

    Thanks again,

    Kay

    Kaylene Klingert

    December 9, 2010 at 4:21 pm


Leave a Reply

