Photog Chris's Blog

got a camera and photoshop, fun times

Adding Speed to some Lushes Curves

leave a comment »

How about a bit of a tutorial on bumping up the interestingness of a photograph. You know, playing around in Photoshop. Here I will take a photo and try and give it some life.

 

 

 

 

 

Original picture. Not bad but a bit dull. I cant for the life of me to get the White Balance set properly, even with a custom White balance. So off to photoshop we go.

Original pic at the Dragon

Original pic at the Dragon

Upon import I decided to flip the White Balance moving the temp from 4850 to 5950 making everything a bit more yellow. I went the opposite direction with the tint (+8 to -16) to boost the green. That got the colors closer to what I remeber. Before leaving I shot the Clarity to +100 and the Vibrance to +19 for a little punch.
I need to start using Vibrance as an Adjustment layer so I can, well, adjust it later. I can’t seem to find a filter or Adjustment layer for Clarity. I know it is boosting contrast, but differntly and I like it.

Upon import I decided to flip the White Balance moving the temp from 4850 to 5950 making everything a bit more yellow. I went the opposite direction with the tint (+8 to -16) to boost the green. That got the colors closer to what I remember. Before leaving I shot the Clarity to +100 and the Vibrance to +19 for a little punch.

I need to start using Vibrance as an Adjustment layer so I can, well, adjust it later. I can’t seem to find a filter or Adjustment layer for Clarity. I know it is boosting contrast, but differntly and I like it.

After Import to Photoshop

After Import to Photoshop

Play Time
I like the import and could post it as is, but I wanted to play. So I decided to stylize things abit. First is a Curves Adjustment layer set to Cross Process. Whooh, that was too  strong, so I set the Blend Mode to Saturation and Opacity to 45%.
Curves Adjustment Layer

Curves Adjustment Layer

What am I doing with this picture? I want to express the feel of zooming down these curves and still be subtle. So being the geek I am I thought of a blue shift.( things moving toward you have colors shifting toward blue, away reddish, okay at ASTRONOMICAL SPEEDS they do) So I added a Photo Filter Adjustment layer and set it to Underwater at 64%.
Photo Filter Adjustment Layer

Photo Filter Adjustment Layer

I like the result but not exactly what I was after to I created a new layer, filled it with a very pale blue (r192 g255 b255), set the Blend Mode to Screen and Opacity to 8%. The I added a mask to the layer and in using a Radial Gradient I cleard out the center of the road leaving the blue tint for the edges. Let me show you two examples.
Blue Tunnel Full On

Blue Tunnel Full On

Blue Tunnel at 8%

Blue Tunnel at 8%

Almost finished. Now to add some speed blur using Radial Blur. So I duplicated the background layer and Radial Blurred it with : Amount to 20, Method to Zoom, and Quality to Best. Sit back and wait. Now this is way too distorting so I reduced the Opacity to 20%. Done.
Finished, Click for larger image

Finished, Click for larger image

Okay,that is it. If you have any questions just leave a comment.
Written by photogchris

September 2, 2009 at 12:07 pm

Posted in Tutorials

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

