Photog Chris's Blog

got a camera and photoshop, fun times

Want a new lens

leave a comment »

The last week I have been bugging for a new lens. The lens I buy will be the last one for some time. Which lens, I haven’t made my mind yet. Here are my thoughts.

Tamron 10-24mm f/3.5-4.5 : I can use a wider lens, currently my best is a Canon EF 20-30 f/3.5-4.5 USM. Still the Canon lens is pretty nice. I’m not too sure if the Tamron is worth it. It is giving me more range.

Sigma 30mm f/1.4 EX DC HSM : The Canon EF 20-30mm gives me a 30mm focal length but at f/4.5. The Sigma is nice, soft on the edges but very sharp in the center. It does not extend my range. On a side note, it will not for a Full Frame camera.

Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM : An awesome lens, maybe the sharpest non-L lens made by Canon. 8 blades on the aperture so it has creamy smooth bokeh.

Tamron 90mm f/2.8 macro : A very sharp macro it goes head to head with the Canon 85 f1.8 except it is one stop slower and does not have USM but it does come with a hood.

One of the reasons for wanting a new lens is that I am looking to start doing portraits. The Tamron 10-24, I guess it wont help me much. The Sigma 30mm f/1.4 would be a very nice portrait lens along with the Canon 85mm f/1.8. The Tamron 90mm macro is a bit slow both in AF and Aperture.

I have about $500 to spend, which means all of the lenses are in my price range. I am seriously leaning towards the Canon EF 85mm f/1.8 USM.

We will see this next weekend.

Written by photogchris

October 5, 2009 at 12:15 am

Posted in Whatever

Leave a Reply

