Photog Chris's Blog

got a camera and photoshop, fun times

New Lens

leave a comment »

Well, it is my Birthday, I did just get laid off but my final check came with a nice bonus. (They really want me back if the they survive) I decided on a budget of $550, no more. That gave me the choice of a few lenses. I wanted a fast lens, f2.8 or faster. I was really looking at the Canon 85 f1.8. It is a great lens but a bit limited.

I really want a nice zoom. So looking at what is available we have:

  • Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 at $450
  • Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 at $420
  • Sigma 18-50mm f/2.8 at $420
  • Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8 at $350
  • Sigma 50-150mm f2.8 at errr, nevermind it’s $750

Canon wants around a grand for a lens in that range (ouch). Used lenses were nowhere to found locally. So, I went with the Tamron 17-50mm f2.8!

So far I am really liking this lens. It is very close in range to my Canon kit lens (EFs 18-55mm IS f3.5-5.6) but the build and image quality seem much nicer.

Tamron 17-50mm f 1:2.8 AF AS LD XR DiII SP yada yada yada

Tamron 17-50mm f 1:2.8 AF AS LD XR DiII SP yada yada yada

Written by photogchris

October 25, 2009 at 11:18 am

Posted in Whatever

Leave a Reply

