Photog Chris's Blog

got a camera and photoshop, fun times

Quit Smoking My Friends!

leave a comment »

I have a few friends right now who are trying to quit smoking. I would think the since I have successfully quit for the past 7 years, 2 months and 16 days that they would heed my advice. But sadly no. They know better.

I did smoke for 14 years, started when I was 19. I smoked 1 1/2 packs a day, Camels most of the time. Price never slowed me down, even when I was low on funds. That is not why I quit. I did have a few girl friends that did not smoke, they wanted me to quit. I didn’t. I even lived in a house which I could not smoke in, that was okay, I could smoke outside. In the Rain of spring . In the Snow of winter. In the Heat of summer. I did not quit.

As a ex-smoker that seems insane! It is called an addiction. In my early 20’s I drank a lot, but that was more about the people I hung out with. I tried pot, it wasn’t that big of a deal, I get very mellow on liquor.  Pain killers are great, when I am in pain. They knock me out when I am not. My only addiction has been to Nicotine…. (Caffeine maybe, but it hurts my kidneys when I get too much)

So what about quiting? Well, I quit because of how the smoking was affecting my health. The coughing every day, Every Day! Since I have quit I only cough when I am sick and not always then! When I do get sick, it is over in a day or two and some times less, but not the weeks it use to take. There are the other benefits such as my sense of smell and taste improving, good food tastes even better. Also, I my mood is more stable, going too long without a hit would put me on edge. But really it was about the Coughing and What I was coughing Up!

Again, so what about quiting? It really comes down to two things, two very simple things. Desire and Help. There you go, now you know the secret, its out.

You really need the desire to quit. You can’t quit for your doctor, your job or even your family. Well, maybe you can, but I bet you won’t!  The desire generally must come from within. External forces can help you but in the end it is all up to you, no one else can do it for you.

How strong is your will? Mine is okay at best and with out help I would not have made it. That is the reason for the help. Mine came from some nicotine patches. They do work. There are also gum and pills, but I like the patches. I just wish they made a patch for weight loss that really works.

The patch just helps with your willpower, bolstering it. It is not a sign of weakness, it does not make less of a person for using it. I know so many smokers who refuse any type of help when quiting and they generally fail. They claim that cold turkey is the only way to quit. How the hell do they know? They still smoke! In all honesty I do know a few who have used the patch but also failed to quit.

This is all getting a bit long in the tooth. I guess all I really wanted to say is that you will not quit unless really want to and if you really want to quit you need some help. Get that help. It takes a few week to months to get over the habits of smoking after dinner or when bored. It took me a few years before I could easily drink liquor again (all the smoking in bars, now illegal in Tennessee). So, no, it is not easy. It does take time and dedication. But you can do it.

Hell, if I can do it anyone can. I can’t even keep ice cream or cookies in house or I’ll go though them crazy fast! But I did quit smoking. So can you.

Chris

Written by photogchris

March 16, 2010 at 6:12 pm

Posted in Rant

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

