Photog Chris's Blog

got a camera and photoshop, fun times

Spaghetti Sandwich

leave a comment »

I love Spaghetti, I eat it at least once a month. Really, it is good stuff. I would say my spaghetti is not like yours. I am not trying to be elitist or anything, but long ago I gave up on bottled spaghetti sauce and spice packets. I also gave up on ground beef too. It is too bland. I use Italian Sausage.  If I was crazy I would use fresh tomatoes too, but I never have that much time. You see, time is always a factor and that is where the Spaghetti Sandwich came from. It takes at least 20 minutes to cook pasta, 2 minutes to make toast.  First, lets start with the sauce.

The Sauce

Ingredients:

12oz Italian Sausage, skinned and broken into small bits
1 med Onion, sliced into thin half rings
3 cloves Garlic, diced or smashed
1 14.5oz can Diced Tomatoes
1 14.5oz can Stewed Tomatoes
Salt, Black Pepper, Dry Oregano, Dry Basil, Chili Flakes, Sugar

Over Medium High Heat brown your Sausage. Add onions. When the onions turn translucent add the garlic. Cook the garlic a bit then add the tomatoes. Bring to a simmer then add the spices and sugar. I add very little sugar but the amount depends on the chili flake. The more Chili, the more sugar but never more then a tablespoon. Allow to reduce over a simmer while the pasta cooks, about 20 minutes.

That is a good plate of spaghetti. Don’t forget the parmigiana cheese. Another thing, add some mushrooms or black olives with the tomatoes. If you have some bell peppers, add them with the onions. You can experiment with Sweet, Mild or Hot sausage, I generally go for mild so I can control the heat.

But what about leftovers? I love freshly cooked pasta so I only cook as much as I am going to eat, about 3oz per serving. (package says 2oz but I eat more) So, that leave sauce left over in the fridge. Guess what? It makes a great Sloppy Joe. You just need some good bread, mayo and swiss cheese.

Toast

Microwaved Sauce on Toast

Thinly spread Mayo

Melted Swiss over the Sauce

Completed Sandwich

Now, for a few words of advice. Use a hearty sandwich bread, something like Pepperidge Farm or Sarah Lee breads. If you do not like swiss cheese, you need to add some type of cheese. The melted cheese holds every thing together. It also helps to let things cool off a bit. Even with the cheese this sandwich needs to be wrapped to be cleanly eaten.

As for Calories and what not. The sauce has about 800 calories all told and makes about 6 servings. So that is about 135 calories, maybe less on a sandwich. I need to measure to be sure. The bread, cheese and mayo adds up to 407 calories with the bread being 220 cal total, 140cal for the cheese and only 45cal for the mayo. So, totaled up we are looking at somewhere around 542 calories.

BTW, did you know that the bread and pasta are almost an even trade? 200 calories for 2oz of pasta, but like I said, I generally eat around 3oz or 300 calories. I use less cheese and no mayo on spaghetti so everything evens out in the end.

I generally try and aim for three meals a day at or around 600 calories each, leaving a few hundred for a snack in the day. That takes me close to 2000. So no, this is not diet food, it is a bit high on fat but is good on protein too.

Chris

Written by photogchris

June 22, 2010 at 12:35 am

Posted in Tutorials, Whatever

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

